Unanswered: automatic update of fields from prior entries

I am a novice with Access and was assigned a project to create a database for work. My issue is that my coworkers want to be able to see a certain identification number across the board but only enter it once. In this case, this identification number is called "batch number." I have made it the primary key of the first table and a foreign key in following tables, however, I can't figure out how to make it automatically transfer from one table to another without them having to do enter it or choose it from a list.

Any suggestions?

Provided Answers: 6
    A common setup is to use a form/subform, and let the master/child links handle it (if you use the wizard, it will ask about linking fields).
    Paul

I was hoping for maybe a vba code so I wouldn't have to redo all of my forms. My coworkers informed me that they wanted this After I created everything.

Provided Answers: 6
    Hard to say without knowing your setup. Generally you can copy a value from one form to another with:

Forms.TargetFormName.TextboxName = Forms!SourceFormName.TextboxName
    Paul

Provided Answers: 19
    Is the data going to be entered in these multiple Forms at different times? If so, your statement "I have made it the primary key of the first table and a foreign key in following tables..." really reinforces what Paul has said; you're talking about a one-to-many relationship and using a Main Form/Subform is the standard way of implementing this.

When your users need to enter data into any Table for a given 'batch number,' they go to that batch number's Record on the Main Form and Access automatically pulls up the corresponding Records on the Subforms for that batch number, either for review or foe entering new Records.