Unanswered: Perform complex calculations entirely within MySQL

I currently have this working by passing bucket-loads of data to PHP and then doing all the calculations there. I want (and most likely need) to perform all the calculations using MySQL only. I know that it is possible to write functions and procedures in MySQL but I've never done it before and every time I sit down to get this written I confuse myself into a crying mess of self-disappointment. So....

Explanation of database:
    Let's start with a database diagram:
    http://i.imgur.com/Th3NL.jpg

You can immediately disregard the users table. We'll not bother with that in this question.

So this database hold information drawn from web pages. You can see the links table holds the URL and title, as well as the maximum term frequency for any term in that document.

The object table is just to allow both users and links to be foreign primary keys in the occurences table. BTW, I am aware of the constant mis-spelling of occurrences as occurences! =)

The occurences table holds the majority of data. The table has a primary foreign key of linkoruser (though just ignore user for this). It has word_id which refers to the dictionary table, tag_id which refers to the tags table and finally score which is the number of occurrences of that word, of that tag type, in that document.

The tags table has a tag id, the name of a tag (eg. title, or H1) and its weight which is normally set between 1 and 10.

The dictionary table has a word id, the actual word, and the inverse document frequency of that word. If you care what an IDF is then it's the number of web pages, divided by the number of web pages containing that specific word somewhere.

Explanation of the system's function:
    Given a link ID (we'll call it BaseID), all other links are compared for similarity (cosine similarity) and the IDs, url and titles of all links are shown to the user, ordered by most to least similar.

Scores for each word are: