Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: how to disable HADR in db2

Hi all,
    we had HADR setup on windows, due to some reasons i want to down the standby server , at the same time i want to run primary server.
    can anybody provide me procedure to achieve this
    Any help can be appreciable..

deactivate the database on the standby server
    stop hadr on the standby server
    stop hadr on the primary server

See the manual for exact command syntax.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Quote Originally Posted by Marcus_A View Post
    deactivate the database on the standby server
    stop hadr on the standby server
    stop hadr on the primary server

See the manual for exact command syntax.
    Thanku so much Marcus, i tried above commands only, now everything is fine,

As i am new to HARD,
    i have following doubts regarding this

1q) After few days i have to enable HADR again, for this one simply restarting HADR on both the servers is enough or
    2q)i have to take backup on primary and restore on standby server
    3q)if i have to take backup , it must be online or offline??

Provided Answers: 11
    if the logfiles are still available on primary (archived to disk-tape-tsm) and can be retrieved - you can start hadr on stdby - will do remote catchup and sync
    if not
    take online backup on primary and restore on stndby - NO ROLLFORWARD todo
    db will sync...
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be