Unanswered: DB Design Question from Newbie

I am new to PHP/SQL and database design. As a "beginner" (if you want to call it that) project, I am attempting to build a browser based game.

I have been advancing steadily so far. I have implemented a login system, built a DB in phpmyadmin, and was able to use PHP to query each row and display it despite any database changes.

Up until now, however, I haven't hit any walls I couldn't overcome with a good google search phrase.

Heres what I'm trying to do :

Users will sign on and have their own account. For this current stage of the project, I am simply trying to grant the user specific "units" which have varying amounts specific to that user.

Example:
    User1 has unit1, unit3, and unit5 with quantities 100, 300, 500 respectively.
    User2 has unit2 and unit4 with quantities 200 and 400 respectively

What would the correct way to set up this database?

---

My current thoughts:

tbl_user
    -----
    id | 1 | 2
    units | 1, 3, 5 | 2, 4
    other | 'xyz' | 'abx'

tbl_unit
    -----
    id | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
    name | Zombie | Vampire | etc3 | etc4 | etc5
    other | 'abc' | 'xyz' | 'etc3" | "etc4" | "etc5"

Then in PHP, I explode "unit" data, then use those variables to pull in tbl_unit info.

The problem I have is how I can pull in the "amount" data. I dont know where the correct place to add this would be. it wouldn't fit in the unit table or user table, unless i added it in a way similar to tbl_users.unit ...which would just be a nightmare to update (i imagine).

Im just baffled. It would be insanely helpful in my learning process if someone could do a quick ERD explaining how to do this.

I appreciate the help in advance!
    Last edited by rickymm3; 01-31-12 at 23:23.