I'm currently trying to build a Personnel Information System using Java, and Apache-Derby as my database. The system is composed of three parts - the database application, the server application and the client application. The client applications run on different machines in a LAN, and they could access the database thru, and only thru the, server application with an embedded apache-derby database.

My problem here is that I am not a pro in database design and I just want to know If I am doing the right thing with my database design concept. So, let me illustrate how I want the system to work.

Before a user can access the database, of course, he must log in first by providing his username and password. Each user has his own access privilege, and for all entries that are recorded in the database, I want to record the name of the user who entered it. All entries of these users cannot be considered as valid entries without the verification of a user with a higher access privilege.

Now let me proceed to the tables in my database. I will only show a few tables just to illustrate the concept:

The first table is the users table, it contains, the user name, password, and access privilege

HTML Code:
paul               fjdksajo               1                //level 1 access
jean              eim32d                  1                  
cathy            vio334fff                2               //level 2 access
max              fjdoe3344                3               //level 3 access
Here is what the access privilege levels mean:
level 1 - can enter information, but entries will not be valid until verified by
higher level users.
- cannot delete entries but can mark entries for deletion, and
all entries marked for deletion will only be deleted once verified by
higher level users
- cannot grant access privileges
level 2 - can enter information, and approve entries of lower level users
- can delete entries that are marked by lower level users
- cannot grant access privileges