Provided Answers: 2

Angry Unanswered: Problem using DMax() in a query

Hello all,

I have a query that I use to generate a report that I can't seem to get right.

The query accesses 2 tables, Customers and xServices. The xServices table will have many entries for each customer.

I want to create a report from the query that shows only the LAST service for the customer.

I am trying to use DMax("FollowUpRequired","xServices") - or something similar but either get a syntax error message or the query returns ALL the services for the customer, when I only want the LAST service carried out.

As you can see I am still a newbie at this but I am learning a lot from this forum.

My thanks in advance for any assistance.

Provided Answers: 14
    How do you determine which row is the last one? Which column do you use for that purpose?
    Have a nice day!

Hi Sinndho

In the xServices table records are sorted by date. The field is ServiceDate.

I guess what I am trying to do is have the most recent service record (ie the last service that a customer had) come up for that customer.

The idea is that if there is any FollowUpRequired for this customer it will be printed on the report. If this field was left empty at the time of the last service, then nothing would print.

I hope this is clear.

Provided Answers: 59
    so you would need to find the maximum service date for that customer

eg
    =dmax("ServiceDate", "xServices", "<customerID> = blah"
    where <CustomerID> is the name of the column identifying the customer
    and blah is the id of that customer
    if the customerid is alpha or alphanumeric encapsualte it with quote marks
    =dmax("ServiceDate", "xServices", "<customerID> = 'blah-di-blah'"

if you need to identify a specific item of equipment for that customer
    =dmax("ServiceDate", "xServices", "<customerID> = blah AND <equipmentid> = hoot-de-hoot"