Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16

    Unanswered: can't connect to Enterprise Manager from workstation

    Hi Folks,

    I just installed the 11g on Enterprise Linux, from my console i can logon to Enterprise Manager but can't do it from my Windows 7 computer, what could be the problem?

    cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    my car won't go.
    Tell me how to make my car go.

    In the future please post fewer details to make guessing at the problem & solution more challenging.

    Consider looking in the EM log file for clues.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    Hi folkst

    Thank for the reply and sorry for less details.

    I'm running a Linux Enterprise Server 5
    Linux hp2.example.com 2.6.18-194.el5 #1 SMP Mon Mar 29 22:10:29 EDT 2010 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux.

    so please let me know what else do i need to put here because from the console everything is working i can access the EM do i need to do any other configuration to connect from my PC. The firewall is in default as you can see here.

    [root@ponta ~]# cat /etc/sysconfig/iptables
    # Firewall configuration written by system-config-securitylevel
    # Manual customization of this file is not recommended.
    *filter
    :INPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
    :FORWARD ACCEPT [0:0]
    :OUTPUT ACCEPT [0:0]
    :RH-Firewall-1-INPUT - [0:0]
    -A INPUT -j RH-Firewall-1-INPUT
    -A FORWARD -j RH-Firewall-1-INPUT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p icmp --icmp-type any -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p 50 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p 51 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p udp --dport 5353 -d 224.0.0.251 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p udp -m udp --dport 631 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 631 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -m state --state ESTABLISHED,RELATED -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -m state --state NEW -m tcp -p tcp --dport 22 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -m state --state NEW -m tcp -p tcp --dport 443 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -m state --state NEW -m tcp -p tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -j REJECT --reject-with icmp-host-prohibited

    cheers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    I only know what you post which is totally inadequate.
    I guess that 2 distinct systems now exist.
    Linux is DB Server & you have sort of PC.
    What is OS name & version on PC?
    From PC OS issue command below
    ping <db_hostname>
    From DB_Server issue command below
    ping <PC_hostname>

    COPY & PASTE results back here
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    Hi, yes, there are 2 OS, on is the DB server that runs Linux and another is my PC running windows 7.

    From the DB Server --> PC
    [root@ponta ~]# ping chamban
    PING chamban.example.com (10.1.1.175) 56(84) bytes of data.

    From PC --> DB Server
    C:\>ping ponta

    Pinging ponta.example.com [10.1.1.20] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 10.1.1.20: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
    Reply from 10.1.1.20: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
    Reply from 10.1.1.20: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63
    Reply from 10.1.1.20: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63

    they can ping each other withou problems.
    The EM manager is running on HTTPS and from console

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    from ponta issue OS command below

    emctl status dbconsole

    COPY & PASTE the results back here

    what specifically occurs when you try to connect to EM from your PC's browser?
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    [oracle@ponta ~]$ emctl status console
    Environment variable ORACLE_UNQNAME not defined. Please set ORACLE_UNQNAME to database unique name.
    [oracle@ponta ~]$

    when i try to connect from my PC nothing happen, page cannot be displayed like you a connecting tot dead web server.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    >Environment variable ORACLE_UNQNAME not defined. Please set ORACLE_UNQNAME to database unique name.

    I do not believe that EM is actually running.
    If so you should see like below

    Code:
    oracle@bcm-laptop:~$ emctl start dbconsole
    Oracle Enterprise Manager 11g Database Control Release 11.2.0.1.0 
    Copyright (c) 1996, 2009 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    https://localhost:1158/em/console/aboutApplication
    Starting Oracle Enterprise Manager 11g Database Control .......... started. 
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Logs are generated in directory /u01/app/oracle/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1/localhost_v112/sysman/log 
    oracle@bcm-laptop:~$ emctl status dbconsole
    Oracle Enterprise Manager 11g Database Control Release 11.2.0.1.0 
    Copyright (c) 1996, 2009 Oracle Corporation.  All rights reserved.
    https://localhost:1158/em/console/aboutApplication
    Oracle Enterprise Manager 11g is running. 
    ------------------------------------------------------------------
    Logs are generated in directory /u01/app/oracle/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1/localhost_v112/sysman/log 
    oracle@bcm-laptop:~$
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    but it's running because I'm logged on the server, i can see the instances, i'm in the HOME of EM and i can see the graphics of General Host CPU Active Sessions SQL Response Time

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    are there multiple ORACLE_HOME directories on this system? (list them)
    are there multiple instances/DB running on this system? (list them)
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    no just one unique oracle directory

    Code:
    [oracle@ponta ~]$ cat .bash_profile
    # .bash_profile
    
    # Get the aliases and functions
    if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
            . ~/.bashrc
    fi
    
    # User specific environment and startup programs
    
    export ORACLE_BASE=/opt/app/oracle
    export ORACLE_SID=orcl
    export ORACLE_HOME=/opt/app/oracle/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1
    PATH=$PATH:$HOME/bin:$ORACLE_HOME/bin
    
    export PATH
    [oracle@ponta ~]$
    no just one unique oracle instance
    Code:
    SQL> select * from v$instance;
    
    INSTANCE_NUMBER INSTANCE_NAME
    --------------- ----------------
    HOST_NAME
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    VERSION           STARTUP_T STATUS       PAR    THREAD# ARCHIVE LOG_SWITCH_WAIT
    ----------------- --------- ------------ --- ---------- ------- ---------------
    LOGINS     SHU DATABASE_STATUS   INSTANCE_ROLE      ACTIVE_ST BLO
    ---------- --- ----------------- ------------------ --------- ---
                  1 orcl
    ponta.insitec.co.mz
    11.2.0.1.0        12-FEB-12 OPEN         NO           1 STOPPED
    ALLOWED    NO  ACTIVE            PRIMARY_INSTANCE   NORMAL    NO
    
    
    SQL>

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Where the Surf Meets the Turf @Del Mar, CA
    Posts
    7,776
    Provided Answers: 1
    EM log file might contain clues.
    You can lead some folks to knowledge, but you can not make them think.
    The average person thinks he's above average!
    For most folks, they don't know, what they don't know.
    Good judgement comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    are talking about this file here
    Code:
    emrep_config.log
    stored here
    Code:
    [root@ponta log]# pwd
    /opt/app/oracle/product/11.2.0/dbhome_1/sysman/log
    [root@ponta log]#

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    16
    folks, problem solved, this rules was missing on iptables.

    Code:
    -A RH-Firewall-1-INPUT -m state –state NEW -m tcp -p tcp –dport 1158 -j ACCEPT
    Cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •