Unanswered: Create a look up from current database

I have inherited a database for a car show. It creates many reports including voting for the various categories and is useful for that and other purposes. What is a real pain is that each year the car show occurs it is necessary to re-enter the entrants. I would like to use the information from the previous year(s) to autofill or look up this information so I am not spending hours doing entry. I have some limited database experience with filemaker and took an access class years ago.... Any help is extremely appreciated!!

Provided Answers: 14
    I don't see any reason why you would not be able to retrieve the data previously entered. However, without any kind of information about the database, it's structures and its tables, it is almost impossible to provide a sensible answer.
    Have a nice day!

Provided Answers: 59
    if its the same, then there should be nothing stopping you copying that data to a new instance of the show
    whether you can do that as an individual SQL query, or multiple queries or a VBA procedure or macros is up to you and the actual design of the system.

although it may indeed be a pain havign retype the same stuff each time there are several ways of looking at it
    retyping means you only put in what you need to, there are less risks of redundant old data carrying over (eg where a company may have changed their name, web page, or may have special offer stuff this year
    it means there is someone specifically responsible for what is on the system
    there is no need to proof read each and every advert. its a lot tougher to spot small mistakes in a mass of data. especially if you have a lot of it go through, the human eye / brain combination is excellent at filling in the gaps or translating what you see into what you expect to see.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Provided Answers: 19