Unhappy Unanswered: Access Intranet Application

Hi All,

I am very new with Ms access 2007 but I do understand the database concept.

My Question is that " Can I make such access database which can be updated, manipulated and used by many users around 100"

Actually I am trying to make an appllication software on which many users can work by creating the user interface front end and to store the data into the access db back end.

Please suggest me Is it possible.

Restrictions in Access

Well I might be mistaken But I do remeber reading about the "flaws" of MS access being that it becomes unstable or inoperable if you have more than 25 users in it at a given moment. even in a front end back end setup. Other than going to MS SQL Server or other type DB you could (which I had to do prior to getting SQL Server) was have a single back end with multiple front ends. I had a app that would then select the frontend with the least users in it and send the new person to that one. in this set up (say 4 FE's)you should be able to have 25 users in each front end and it would be like only 4 users in the back-end and you get your 100 users. SQL Server Express might be an option to you because its free, though look into the eula though, do not know what the limits are.

Provided Answers: 59
    there is no hard and fast rule as to where Access hits problems. and in reality its usually not Access that has the problems but the underlying storage engine, which is called JET.

JET is a file server orientated mechanism and isn't clever when you have large number sof concurrent users.

there are things that you can do to circumvent this problem

design the application using unbound controls / recodsets ( a lot more code to be handwritten, you can't use most of the whizzy designers)