Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    upgrading sybase database

    we have a sybase 11 database and currently we are planning to upgrade that to latest sybase 15. Can i restore sybase 11 database in sybase 15 or do we have any migration tools that will help the data migration from sybase 11 to sybase 15.

    Thanks

    Renjith

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    114
    Hi there,

    If it were an upgrade from 15_x to another 15_x more recent, you didn't have to do anything special.

    Since it's a previous version (11), you will have to use "sqlupgraderes" tool. That tool will help you with migration. Take a look at the installation guide for ASE 15. There is a section there for upgrades.

    The version 15 bring new algorithims for the optimizer, for instance queries with the group by on version 15 are not ordered like before due to the choosen algorithm. There are more details to take in consideration when upgrading.

    Also you didn't mencioned the OS that you're using, on the manual choose the one that suits you.

    Go to SyBooks Online
    and choose "Adaptive server 15" and then the installation guide for your OS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    We are using windows XP.We dont have sybase 15 installed right now.since there is no support for sybase 11 we are planning to migrate to sybase 15.So i have to give the migration plans.What exactly the tool "sqlupgraderes" will do.Is this a sybase product or do we need to purchase this tool for migration

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    114
    Hello again,

    SO in windows the process is diferent, that tool that i mentioned, is for linux, and unix.

    In attachment follows the syabse manual. Before you start anything read chapter 5. This will tell you all the steps to upgrade your server.

    I've never done an update on windows ase.

    First of all its important to make sure is the version 15. Because an upgrade on 15 and on 15.0.3 is diferent.

    Lets assume is 15.0

    "For a server installation 11.5.x and older, Sybase recommends that you
    upgrade to version 12.0, then upgrade to version 15.0."

    Lets hope that your version is greater than 11.5.

    Just follow the manual, the process is described step by step. Chapter 5. page 53-54.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi,

    So for a 2 step upgradation, from 11.9 to 12 and then from 12 to 15, do we need to procure license for version 12 as well? Or only having license for version 15 will do?

    Thanks,
    Renjith

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Lisbon
    Posts
    114
    Hey,

    From what i understood from the manual, if your version is 11.9, you dont need to make the 2 steps, you can upgrade directly for 15.

    Regarding your question, i'm not completly sure, but i don't think is necessary to have another license for ase 12, you can use the evaluate version, since its only for transition. (don't know if some parameters like number of devices, and total size of db will work with this version,etc, but i think they will).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •