Unanswered: Organizing tables in access

Hello I am currently studying programming and I am at my last year in my course. I have to make a database using access and I cannot get help from my teachers because it is my final project. Me and my teammates are making a small game in C sharp with XNA and for now I am trying to make a database that will contain informations about the items in the game and maybe more. I have made some table but I have reached a problem. I don't know if I should make many tables for my equipment like healing items and weapons or if I should separate them in different tables.

For example, I have healing items that will give the main character some health back and I have weapons that deal damage.Both are items but do different things. Should I still keep them in the same table and for the damage field for the healing items put 0 or should I make different tables for both of them.

Again I am fairly new to the database world and if my question doesn't seem as detailed as it should be, just ask and I will try to clear it up. Thank you in advance for any help I could get.

Provided Answers: 59
    for this app you probably need to look at the super/sub type model

having a single table for each and every type of thing used in your game is asking for trouble. it means each time you want to add or remove a 'thing' it involves changing the db structure AND the application.

mind you you could argue that healing and damage are two sides of the same (pardon the deliberate pun) sword

if you can map your items into two categories then you could, mebbe, have two tables, but you must resist the temptation to have a separate table for each item type.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

I have not done a huge amount of DB design, so I am sure others can come up with a better solution. However, I would suggest 3 tables. One table for items, and one table for effects, with a linking table for all the effects that and Item could have.