Unanswered: Auto fill fields based on selection in Combo Box

I am a rookie to Access. I have searched high and low for the solution to this problem but cannot find the answer anywhere. I appreciate any input. I am using Access 2010.

I have a single table with various fields
    Included in this table are fields for the Salesperson ID#, the Salesperson first name, and Salesperson last name
    I have created a mock "purchase order" form based on this table
    On this form, I have created a combo-box where the user selects the salesperson ID # (the combo-box is populated with S01, S02, and S03)
    **When a user of this form selects a Salesperson ID# I would like to have the Salesperson's first name and last name auto populate into the form (this is what I cannot figure out how to do)

I do not want to set up additional tables with relationships, I want all the info to be in a single form

Do I need to create a macro?

Thanks in advance for ANY and all help

Provided Answers: 19
    Set up your Combobox using the Wizard and include the Fields you need, from Left-to-Right.

If, in the Combobox they appear, Left-to-Right, as

Salesperson ID SalespersonFirstName SalespersonLastName

the code would be
    Code:
    Private Sub YourComboBoxName_AfterUpdate()
         Me. Salesperson ID =  Me. YourComboBoxName.Column(0)
         Me. SalespersonFirstName = Me. YourComboBoxName.Column(1)
         Me. SalespersonLastName = Me. YourComboBoxName.Column(2)
    End Sub
    Notice that the Column Index is Zero-based.

Also, if you actually include the Octothorp or pound sign (#) in your Field/Control name, it would be a good idea to drop it. It has special meaning in Access VBA code and can confuse the Access Gnomes no end!

Linq ;0)>
    Last edited by Missinglinq; 02-22-12 at 17:35.
    Hope this helps!

The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007