Unanswered: Need code to allow user to specify which field to search

This is my first post so I hope I do it correctly. I have a membership database with a table of 30 committees members can serve on (each committee is a separate field). On the data entry form, a check box is clicked for each desired committee. I would like to have a text box where the user can enter the committee/field they want search for. Without this function, I have to create a separate query (and report) for each committee.

I am a novice with VBA and SQL and can't figure out the code that allows user input to pass along a parameter.

Hi there,

Not 100% on what your looking for, but from what I can gather...
    1. On your form create a combo box - lets call it combo1 for e.g.
    2. Set the data source of this combo box to your 'table of 30 committees' making sure that the bound column is the column that you want to be used as the search criteria (name of the committee?)
    3. In the query, set the criteria of the field you want to search on (committee name? or committee ID? to forms!yourformname!combo1

This means that what ever value has been selected from the combo box will be used as the criteria for the query.

Please ignore this if this wasn't what your looking for, only I couldn't be certain from your post.
    Hope this helps,

Dave.

Access 2000 User

Thanks for your reply Dave. That is not quite what I need. I need the user's input to determine which column/field is searched for a particular criteria (and most searches are the opposite). My idea is to have a textbox on a form with a search command button. The user will enter the column/field (committee) to which they want to search. The code for the search button would then use the textbox data to determine which field in the Committee table to search for the criteria, which will always be "yes". Does this make any sense at all?

I think I know what you mean, slightly more complicated though, anyway: