Question Game statistic database design

Hello,

I have tried to search for a solution but I'm not quite sure how to formulate my search query to get the right response so I'm asking a question now instead. Hopefully someone can either answer or point me in the right direction (article or useful search terms =)

I have some experience in web development (PHP, ASP, etc.) and I've been using MySQL for quite some time for databases with primitive information.

Now I'm working on a game (AstroFighter.net) and I plan to record a high level of details for players, such as time played, use of weapons (broken down to each weapon), kills, deaths, kill by weapon type, powerups collected... well, you get the point =)

I feel it is important that I design the database properly and the most stressing decision at the moment (I think) is that I need to figure out how to treat when a game server uploads the match results. The server will post a form to the PHP page that will extract all relevant players and game statistical figures and insert it into the database.

I will also have clients posting selected match data to the web server to validate the match result reported by the game server and to increase the trustworthyness of the data in a step towards preventing cheating.

Since clients will assist to validate the data I need to store the entire match result for some time... and now finally to my question. I have three scenarios in mind:

Design 1.
    I keep a simple match table with fields that identify the match that took place (e.g. timestamp, host IP, session key etc.)

I then create a statistical database with very few fields, e.g. "id", "match_id", "player_id", "stat_id", "count".

The match_id refers to the match that took place. The player_id refers to the player a particular entry belongs to. The stat_id refers to what type of statistics it is (e.g. deaths, kills, laser shots fired, laser shots hit, etc.) and the counter contains the actual number.