Unanswered: Help with a Select Statement

Hey there guys,

I'm gonna go ahead and put it out that I am a novice user and currently a student. I'm having an issue when it comes to selecting from multiple tables. I've tried UNION's and JOINS but can't seem to get it right. To give you a description of what I am trying to do, I have a website that I have made. It's essentially a E-Commerce site, What I am trying to do is have it so when a customer selects a product and the website displays it, It will display items for that particular product that are stored in its table.

Currently my database is set up with a Product supertype table and 3 sub tables which are Book, DVD, and Game. With each subtable containing unique items for their product type. This is the code I am currently using in ASP. With that code the Issue is that when I pull data for the specific cat that data is not in the RS as I am only querying the Product Table. Really the closest I get to solving is: Select * from product, book, dvd, game where product_ID= "& productid but then all the information is set to the same product and it just makes it worse.

Code:
    ' Get the Product Information
    sqlString = "SELECT *  FROM Product "
    sqlString = sqlString & "WHERE product.product_id=" & productID 
    Set RS = Server.CreateObject( "ADODB.Recordset" )
    RS.ActiveConnection = Con
    RS.Open sqlString

' Get Current Category
    cat = RS( "product_type" )

'Get information for each of the categories
    if ( cat = 1 ) THEN
    	sqlString = "Select Studio, Director, Genre, Rating, Duration From DVD WHERE dvd.product_id= " & productID
    End IF
    if ( cat = 2 ) THEN
    	sqlString = "SELECT Author, ISBN, Publisher, Pages FROM BOOK WHERE book.product_id = " & productID
    End IF
    IF ( cat =3) THEN
    	sqlString = "Select Developer, System, Genre From Game Where game.product_id = " & productID
    End if
    IF (cat =4) THEN