Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to databases and spent weeks learning and thinking about how to write a search to get what I want, and finally I did it! Terribly written with nested SELECT statements but it works.

I figured I would just use that since my database is pretty small, starting at like 200 rows. Well now I'm up to 600 rows and my .php page is timing out when trying to query, and I think it's because of my crappy code, because my query still runs when I manually enter it into phpMyAdmin.

I have two tables, one keeps track of employees and what days they take off from work. This table is called 'misloadDaysOff', and here is some example rows:

employee dayOff
DerpA 2011-10-18 05:09:23
DerpB 2011-10-18 05:09:23
DerpB 2011-10-18 05:09:23

The second table is called 'misload' and keeps track of the employee who misloaded, the timestamp when it happened, and other data related to the event that is not relevant to the query I'm trying to clean up.

Here's some example rows from 'misload' (removing the irrelevant columns):

employee timestamp
DerpA 2011-10-28 10:39:35
DerpB 2011-10-29 10:39:42
DerpA 2011-10-29 10:39:47

So as you may have realized, an employee having a 'misload' is a bad thing. At my work, as an attempt to inspire people to work smarter, I have made my SELECT query to list all employees and how many days it has been since their most recent misload. My query also has to take into account days that employees didn't work, because if DerpA takes 3 weeks off work, we don't want to give him credit for not making any mistakes for those 3 weeks.

First I'll show you an output from my select statement:

currentEmployee daysWithoutMisload daysOffSubtracted
DerpA 53 3
DerpB 28 6
DerpC 22 1
DerpD 11 8
DerpE 7 1
DerpF 5 0

So DerpA is winning this competition with 53 working days without a misload.

DerpD has had 11 working days without a misload, after taking out 8 days off in between.