Unanswered: Sql-Server Jobs/ASP.NET Challenge

Hi All, Anyone up for a challenge. Here goes:

I want to create a front end in ASP.NET to sql server job in the back end.
    Requirements are:
    1, The Frontend interface must allow a user to interact with sql jobs i.e
    User must be able to view job name, job history, messages, schedules etc from this frontend

2, The User must be able to create a new job from the frontend i.e
    She must be able to add job name, add Steps and schedule the job etc

Any pointer or advice will be greatly appreciated thanks.

PS; I'm new to SQL-Server...

Provided Answers: 10
    ...why?

The interface to create jobs and steps already exist within Management Studio.

Have you considered the security implications? Remember that SQL Jobs run in the context of the SQL Agent account which undoubtedly has higher permissions than you want your users to have. What if a user created a job that dropped all of your tables?
    George
    Home | Blog

Re: Sql-Server Jobs/ASP.NET Challenge

Quote Originally Posted by gvee View Post
    ...why?

The interface to create jobs and steps already exist within Management Studio.

Have you considered the security implications? Remember that SQL Jobs run in the context of the SQL Agent account which undoubtedly has higher permissions than you want your users to have. What if a user created a job that dropped all of your tables?
    I already have considered your last point, we have an application to which we wish to integrate this solution with. All the security issues will be ironed out from the interface leaving only stripped down commands getting into the database. Yet you raise a good point to which i will pay close attention, undoubtedly.
    Yet i still want a procedure on how to go about it. and no i do not want to use SSMS to create jobs and schedule.
    Thanks in advance.

Investigate the use of System Management Objects (SMO). This assembly has all the methods and events you inquired about.