Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    268

    Unanswered: DB2 Instance Autostart Problem

    Red hat Linux 6.2 64bit - DB2 V9.5 FP8

    I have installed db2 on a linux server but the db2inst1 would not start automatically.

    It is set to autostart, DB2AUTOSTART=YES

    I have been through this multiple times and rebooted

    IBM How to use fault monitors to automatically restart DB2 UDB instances - United States

    I have done this also

    /opt/IBM/db2/V9/bin/db2greg -clean

    -- This gave the result of,

    Scanning Global Registry Service records...
    No records will be deleted.

    Scanning Global Registry Instance records...
    No records will be deleted.
    --------------------------------------------

    none helped.

    This is what I see when I run

    cat /var/log/messages | grep -ie db2

    Mar 19 09:12:27 db2prodlx01 kernel: dracut: inactive '/dev/VolGroup99/LV_DB2' [50.00 GiB] inherit
    Mar 19 09:49:46 db2prodlx01 kernel: dracut: inactive '/dev/VolGroup99/LV_DB2' [50.00 GiB] inherit


    Any help will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    I always use this
    define/start db2fmcd in /etc/inittab
    use db2fm to define/start the autostart
    all details are
    DB2 fault monitor facilities for Linux and UNIX
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    268
    inittab file has this but it is not working.


    fmc:2345:respawn:/opt/ibm/db2/V9.5/bin/db2fmcd #DB2 Fault Monitor Coordinator

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,514
    Provided Answers: 11
    have you checked if the process is present ?
    you have to enable the instance for autorestart as indicated before with db2fm -i xx -f on
    see doc for details
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    268
    I have done all that multiple times. Please read my initial post. When I go through the steps it works. Problem after rebooting the server.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Does "db2fm -s -S" return AVAILABLE for both (step #11)? Any errors in the db2diag.log?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    268
    No, it returns this after rebooting the server.

    Gcf module 'fault monitor' is INSTALLED PROPERLY but NOT ALIVE
    Gcf module '/opt/ibm/db2/V9.5/lib64/libdb2gcf.so' is INSTALLED PROPERLY but NOT ALIVE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,369
    Not sure, but could be related to:
    https://www-304.ibm.com/support/docv...id=swg21497220

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    268
    Thank you. That worked but here is the weird thing. The technote states that this is on RHEL6 systems. We have a server (VM Image) that has RHEL 6.0 64 bit with DB2 V9.5 FP7 and autostart works on this server without the fmcd.conf file in place which this technote suggested.

    The only difference between the 2 servers are 1 with RHEL 6.0 64 bit and the other RHEL 6.2 64 bit but the technote says RHEL6...........Anyway, thanks for the great help..........
    Last edited by mdx34; 03-20-12 at 17:00.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •