Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Keyword AS not expected using TIMESTAMPDIFF

Hello,

I am still new to DB2 and have been actively reading many forums to answer my questions before writing a new forum, but I failed to find what I was looking for.

Basically I am trying to find how many days have elapsed between my date field called 'EXP0DATE' and the current timestamp.

However, I receive an error message that the word 'As' not expected, but I need to have this value set in a column in a .net gridview.

What do I need to change?

TIMESTAMPDIFF(16, char(CURRENT TIMESTAMP - EXP0DATE) As DAYSELAPSED

Thanks,

Provided Answers: 1
    Quote Originally Posted by MrDatabase View Post

What do I need to change?
    May be count your parentheses?

It is always good to have a second pair of eyes.

Thanks,

But unfortunately I am getting a new error that is telling me "Argument 1 of function - not valid".

Does that have something to do with '16' that represents days?

Thank you again for responding back.

It is always good to have a second pair of eyes.

Thanks,

But unfortunately I am getting a new error that is telling me "Argument 1 of function - not valid".

Does that have something to do with '16' that represents days?

Thank you again for responding back.
    Try casting exp0date to a timestamp as in:

values timestampdiff(16, CHAR(current_timestamp - TIMESTAMP(exp0date)))

/Lennart

But if you are only interested in the difference in days, you might want to aim for something like:

days(current_date) - days(EXP0DATE)

TIMESTAMPDIFF function is accurate only when dealing smaller intervals.
    According to the documentation

The following assumptions may be used in estimating a difference:

There are 365 days in a year.
    There are 30 days in a month.
    There are 24 hours in a day.
    There are 60 minutes in an hour.
    There are 60 seconds in a minute.

HTH

Sathyaram
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.