Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84

    Unanswered: How to check if STMM is on or off?

    Using DB2 9.1.4 LUW. I'm getting these Warnings from the main database on Production.

    ADM4500W A package cache overflow condition has occurred. There is no error but this indicates that the package cache has exceeded the configured maximum size. If this condition persists, you may want to adjust the PCKCACHESZ DB configuration parameter.

    Right now the PCKCASHESZ is set to Automatic

    db2 get db cfg for DBNAME| grep PCKCACHESZ
    Package cache size (4KB) (PCKCACHESZ) = AUTOMATIC


    How then do I check if the STMM is on or off?

    Thank you.

    CC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    db2 get db cfg for DBNAME | grep -i self

    Andy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84

    How to check if STMM is on or off

    Okay STMM is on.

    db2 get db cfg for DBNAME| grep -i self
    Self tuning memory (SELF_TUNING_MEM) = ON


    Now I looked at db2 monitor Windows tool and it looks like db2stmm has UOW Start and Stop timestamp of 3/18/2012 but has last appl status change of 3/28/12 in UOW Waiting Status. Just wondering if the db2stmm could be causing this ADM4500W A package cache overflow condition Warning on the db2diag.log.

    We have been getting tons of these since 03/19/2012.

    Thanks.

    CC

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Whether it is set to ON in db config is one thing, but whether it is active is a different matter.

    db2 connect to <db-name>
    db2 get db cfg show detail

    This will tell you whether it is active or inactive.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    It's active. Self tuning memory (SELF_TUNING_MEM) = ON (Active)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Just because SELF_TUNING_MEM = ON does not mean that STMM is doing anything. You have to have at least 2 of the memory tunables set to automatic for STMM to actually do anything.

    Andy

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    84
    Also, I looked up on the cfg and these are set to:
    Size of database shared memory (4KB) (DATABASE_MEMORY) = AUTOMATIC(2207866)
    Max storage for lock list (4KB) (LOCKLIST) = AUTOMATIC(4288)
    Sort heap thres for shared sorts (4KB) (SHEAPTHRES_SHR) = AUTOMATIC(167022)
    Sort list heap (4KB) (SORTHEAP) = AUTOMATIC(33404)
    Database heap (4KB) (DBHEAP) = 8192
    SQL statement heap (4KB) (STMTHEAP) = 4096
    Default application heap (4KB) (APPLHEAPSZ) = 1024
    Max size of appl. group mem set (4KB) (APPGROUP_MEM_SZ) = 30000
    Statistics heap size (4KB) (STAT_HEAP_SZ) = 75000

    I did notice that the db2stmm has a OS User of RFDASH01$ and DB User of B2BPRTL instead of "db2inst1" which it normal is.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by ARWinner View Post
    Just because SELF_TUNING_MEM = ON does not mean that STMM is doing anything. You have to have at least 2 of the memory tunables set to automatic for STMM to actually do anything.

    Andy
    If it shows active (using show detail) then it is doing something.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    So STMM is active and doing something. If memory serves, there was an APAR that covered this message. FP 4 for V9.1 is 4 years old. You might want to get current.

    As far as the OS user associated with stmm, i would not be concerned about it. I think it uses the info from the first connection to the database.

    Andy

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    43
    I would look at the STMM logs in the stmmlog directory and see what it tells you it has been up to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •