View Poll Results: To perform DBA day-to-day tasks, I use/prefer to use:

Voters
19. You may not vote on this poll
  • Command Line

    16 84.21%
  • GUI tools

    1 5.26%
  • 50/50

    2 10.53%
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367

    Unanswered: DB2 DBA: Command Line or GUI tools

    As a DB2 DBA, Do you use / prefer to use command line or GUI tools to perform your day-to-day tasks? Please vote.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    GUI is good for one time jobs that you do occasionally. And, for generating commands quickly to save for later use on command line.

    For beginners, GUI is good to learn the ropes, but in the long run command line always wins.


    =
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    When you have multiple environments (development, Test, QA, Production, etc), and need to run the command in each one, a repeatable process is needed so that when run in production no human error is introduced.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111

    CC vs Data Studio.

    Hi,
    As you talking about GUI, I wish to ask this question.

    Which IBM GUI do you prefer to use?

    I am currently using Control Center on my v9.7 ESE , fp 3 (Windows) and I am very happy with CC. Even I setup my HADR using CC.

    But I installed the Data Studio 3.1 (full client) on my test system and the GUI is not very frindly.
    I find more comfortable using CC than Data Studio.

    what is your opinion please?

    I know, the CC is going to depreciate soon.

    Thanks, Valan.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Quote Originally Posted by sathyaram_s View Post
    GUI is good for one time jobs that you do occasionally.
    Like what?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111
    Like you can setup HADR using GUI very easily, but you dont need the GUI to manage it.
    Using DB2PD cmd you can manage it.

    valan.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    I can put all the necessary commands in a script and run it whenever I need to setup HADR.

    What would you do if GUI starts hanging in the middle of your setup?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Chennai
    Posts
    111
    Quote Originally Posted by db2girl View Post
    I can put all the necessary commands in a script and run it whenever I need to setup HADR.

    What would you do if GUI starts hanging in the middle of your setup?

    Any GUI can hang. Even my windows explorer does. But CC does quite often.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •