Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6

    Unanswered: db2 backup to multiple drives on z/linux environment

    Hi

    We are currently on a z/Linux machine with DB2 running. Currently we are taking the backup using

    Code:
     db2 backup db <databasename> to <location>  PARALLELISM 10  compress WITHOUT PROMPTING
    our database is huge and the above script is taking about 180 to 190 mins to backup. We found some solution to backup to
    multiple drives instead of one to enhance the speed of operation.

    Could anyone please explain or eloborate how to take make the backup to multiple drives on linux machine.

    What other tuning can be done to make it fast.

    Any help is much appreciated

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,368
    Specify multiple <location>

    Optimizing backup performance:
    IBM DB2 9.7 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    You should not specify the parallelism or buffers, etc as DB2 will now automatically calculate the best settings for you.

    Regarding multiple drives, it is a good idea, not sure what you don't understand. Just list the different paths separated by commas. Obviously, it helps even more if each path is writing to separate mount points (not just paths on the same mount point) and separate spindles, but in terms of parallelism that is not absolutely necessary.
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    thanks db2girl

    thanks Marcus

    does the parallelism or buffers makes any overhead in backup process as stated in my script ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    DB2 will choose the optimal parameters if you ignore. that is the recommended way.

    If you are on 9.5, the auto-tuning algorithm does not work as intended from FP4. Fixed in FP9

    HTH
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    6
    Thanks alot Sathyaram

    Currently we are using DB2 v9.7.0.4 with Fix Pack 4.

    Does this product has any other recommended settings ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •