Unanswered: Change Linked Table File Path For Each New User

Hello Everyone! I am fairly new to Access and have very little vba experience. What I am doing is making a database tool that I would like to roll out to other employees (they would have local instances kept on their hard drive). It tracks an individual's inventory of spare parts with input of each transaction (i.e. order, return, itemization, etc.). I have been using it myself and it works great. I use linked tables to import data from another database. The file path of the database I link to includes an employee number (e.g. C:\Data\"Employee Number"_"xxx".mdb). Every employee's file path would be the same, with the exception of their employee number. I also use the employee number within this tool as a query condition, but I have only hardcoded my own employee number in place. My question is, how would I go about prompting the end user for their employee number the very first time they use this tool to establish their employee number? Would I need to create a variable that is null until the employee number is given? How do I use this variable later in my query condition?

Thanks!
    Last edited by uwgreer; 04-06-12 at 14:18.

Am not 100% on how DB is organised. However from what I can gather, one potential solutions could be this.

Create a table (yourtablename) with one field (yourfieldname) that will store the EmployeeID, there should be a copy of this table on each users copy of the DB (i.e. not a linked table as each user will need their own unique copy of this table).

Create a query (yourqueryname), you don't need to add any fields to the query as this will be done from the code. This query will ensure that only ONE EmployeeID is ever stored in the system.

Create a welcome form that would run on startup that has the following code in the form module.

Code:
    Public Sub PromptEmpID()
    Dim dbs As DAO.Database
    Dim rst As DAO.Recordset
    Dim myEmployeeID As String