Unhappy Unanswered: Create Unique Number in Access 2007

Hi I am new to Access 2007. I need to generate a unique number in Job # field so that it will increase by 1 starting with 0001. I want to be able to assign this number after I hit save. There will be other users so I want to be able to prohibit deletions and prohibit cancelling the form so that the numbers don't repeat themselves. I don't want duplicate numbers. Do I have to create a new table or form from which to pull these number from? Please respond in layman's terms. I have tried various other sites that provided code but I didn't know where to enter this code and if I had to create other tables or forms? Anyone with any help would be very much appreciated. Thank you!

Provided Answers: 14
    Quote Originally Posted by mefrogs8 View Post
    I want to be able to assign this number after I hit save.
    Why don't you simply add an Autonumber column to the table where the data are stored?
    Have a nice day!

I would use autonumber but there will be multiple users and I don't want duplicate numbers if by chance 2 people are creating a quote at the same time.

Provided Answers: 59
    the system handles autonumber quite happily by itself.

however if you need some form of external rules on your autonumbering (such as number must be contiguous there must be no gaps then an autonumber won't work. autonumbers should only be used when there is no external meaning to the number. an autonumber does nothing more than guarantee that no two rows will have the same value, ie guarantees that there is at least on piece of information that you can rely on to be unique.

sometimes you use autonumbers becuase there is no preexisting column(s) that make a row unique.. .your quote number could do that
    or there are performance or storage reasons reasons (eg rather than use say 10 columns as your composite PK you could instead replace it with a single value.