Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Lightbulb Need recommendations on which DB to use

Hi, I'm new to database world, but I'd like to create two for personal use. Offline.

1. The first meant to store some quotations and ideas of books I read, so I can access them later easily by title, category, thoughts or whatever.

1. Also, as I'm studying law I'm interested in building another personal db to store some jurisprudence, doctrine and various notes. Something my memory can't handle and may be useful in the future.

I haven't money to spend on it, so I'd like free solutions. I'd like an easy graphical solution if possible.

I've seen mysql may fit my needs, but I really have no idea at all. ¿What do you recommend me? Thnx!

Try Microsoft Access if you have MS Office installed with a version.

if you can't spend money on it then open office is probably the way to go, assuming that you don't have Access installed

there are other solutions such as PHP/MySQL on a local webserver but I suspect that may be a step too far out of your comfort zone
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

use mysql along with one of the many free front end utilities
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Come to think of it, why not use sql 2008 express. It's free.

I have MS Office and Open Office, but I haven't used them in depth, just to make some calculations and list some vocabulary for learning purposes.

I don't really know if they would be able to handle much information without slowing down my pc or will be good enough in the long run if I get more ambitious, that's why I thought about mysql, which looks more powerful for what I've read.

So If I have to choose between a proprietary software or open software, I'd choose mysql, though If sql 2008 is really easier than mysql I may change my mind.