Thread: Trigger help!

Unanswered: Trigger help!

Hello,

I am completely new to SQL and am trying to create a trigger to update a field when a field in another table is changed...

I have the following two tables with these fields in them...

PATIENTS
    Patient_ID
    Date_Of_Last_Appointment (Date)

APPOINTMENTS
    Appointment_ID
    Patient_ID
    Date_Of_Appointment (Date)
    Status

When a patient attends their appointment, the Status field is changed to "Arrived". When this happens I want the date of the appointment to be inserted into the "Date_Of_Last_Appointment" field for the appropriate patient in the Patients table.

I would really appreciate some help in writing this. I am afraid I haven't got anything at the moment as I have no clue where to even begin. Usually I try to write something first to get help on so sorry!

Provided Answers: 59
    its redundant data
    you already know the date of the patients previous appointment.
    just run a query that pulls the last appointment BEFORE you set the status to arrived.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Oh ok. Thanks!

But then I also wanted to be able to calculate when the patient is next due to be seen depending on this date.

The PATIENTS table also has the fields Scheme and Next_Appointment_Due.

The scheme can be 1,2,3,6,9 or 12 months and I wanted to automatically add this to the Date_Of_Last_Appointment field to automatically calculate the Next_Appointment_Due.

Any ideas on how I might go about doing that?

Thanks.

Provided Answers: 59
    the information already exists, its readily accessible
    ..presumably you look for the most recent appointment for that patient which as a status of whatever.
    unless there is a good reason for duplicating the information then the current storage is good enough.