Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    105

    Unanswered: Log archiving error - HADR

    Hello All,

    We have two AIX server(6.1) with DB2V9.5 FP8 with HADR configured (wp01p , wp02p).

    While doing planned takeover - from 01p to 02p - Getting some log archiving error as below.

    2012-04-12-15.05.51.831601+060 E3745748A347 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 14221320 TID : 1 PROC : db2vend
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 1
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, database utilities, sqluvend, probe:1502
    DATA #1 : TSM RC, PD_DB2_TYPE_TSM_RC, 4 bytes
    TSM RC=0x00000029=41 -- see TSM API Reference for meaning.

    2012-04-12-15.05.51.833153+060 I3746096A808 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 4915432 TID : 33155 PROC : db2sysc 0
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 33155 EDUNAME: db2logmgr (FDBKDB) 0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, data protection services, sqlpCloseVendorDevice, probe:2800
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x86100025=-2045771739=SQLP_MEDIA_VENDOR_DEV_ERR
    "A vendor device reported a media error."
    DATA #1 : Vendor RC, PD_DB2_TYPE_VENDOR_RC, 4 bytes
    Vendor RC=0x00000011=17 -- see DB2 API Guide for meaning.
    DATA #2 : Hexdump, 48 bytes
    0x07000001202B88D0 : 0000 0029 3135 3032 2034 3100 0000 0000 ...)1502 41.....
    0x07000001202B88E0 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ................
    0x07000001202B88F0 : 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 ................

    2012-04-12-15.05.51.833299+060 I3746905A427 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 4915432 TID : 33155 PROC : db2sysc 0
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    EDUID : 33155 EDUNAME: db2logmgr (FDBKDB) 0
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, data protection services, sqlpgArchiveLogVendor, probe:2870
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x86100025=-2045771739=SQLP_MEDIA_VENDOR_DEV_ERR
    "A vendor device reported a media error."

    TSM error 41 says:
    0041 E DSM_RC_ABORT_EXCEED_MAX_MP
    Explanation: All the tape mount points for this node are in use.
    System Action: The system returns to the calling procedure.
    User Response: Increase the number of allowed tape mounts for this node on the server

    am able to connect to the DB on 02p. But application were not able to connect to the db .. and above errors were reported in the diag.log.

    Basic checks :
    checked whether node is locked at tsm end and whether sufficient space is available.
    No errors reported apart from the above mentioned ones.
    checked the connectivity of the db.
    backup and log archiving works on 01p. only when it moves to 02p - it gives the error and also sometime log archivings gets completed without errors.

    Any suggestion please?

    Thanks for your help in advance.

    Regards
    Meena.s

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    It is a capacity or configuration issue ..

    SQL2062N Reasoncode "41" An error occured while accessing media - Toolbox for IT Groups

    consider using FAILARCHPATH until the issue is resolved
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    105
    Thanks Sathya for your updates.

    But TSM team says they have 66GB of space from their end.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    Really ... You believe them???

    Well, it is very clearly a TSM error!! The message cannot be any clear.

    See if any of the dsmerror.log on the database server has info.

    Set diaglevel to 4 and also enable TSM tracing if you have to prove it.

    http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce...ath=8_1_10_3_1

    If you find an error in TSM trace, then it is definitely TSM error and TSM team will not be able to deny that.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    306
    From the TSM error it sounds like TSM is reporting that all the tape drives are 'in use'
    Are all other TSM backups working (other DB2 dbs, filesystem)?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    105
    Thanks all for your updates.

    @meehange : Yup all other Bakcups work fine except this log archiving.

    @Sathya: TSM team says as below:
    The issue with archiving log is failing some time as it is looking for the tape. This should not be normal case as the archive log should archive with the management class LOG The management class parameter need to change from default to LOG.
    you need to change the management class parameter . You should use the management class as below .
    For database backup use management class: DB
    For Archive log use the managemenet class: LOG

    But I have configured so many db backup but not set TSM management class from db2 end rather it has been set from TSM end.

    So I doubt where this TSM management class needs to be set up ?

    Regards
    Meena.s

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •