Exclamation Please Help me!!! DVLA/Courts : 1 - ME : 0

Hi, I am a complete novice but think I know how powerful database can be.

My problem is I have recently lost a court case against the UK Driver Vehicle Licence Agency.

I lost because the DVLA Barrister blinded the Judge with science about how hard it would be for DVLA to put error checking in their Database.

I am in court again next week asking a Higher Judge to allow me to appeal the lower courts decision.

Does anyone know if there is a qualified DB consultant or academic (Judges love letters after names) who can pen a quick e-mail on the approx cost of implementing error checking on a large DB. I don't need a full report since I only need to convince the Judge in a 5 minute hearing that there is more to come and allow me to move on to full appeal.

DVLA doesn't make mistakes, this is a well proven and accepted fact*

Occasionally there are times when the DVLA has taken sympathy with someone elses view (ie when they have been caught out lying or being dishonest, but even they the DVLA doesn't make mistakes)

short of finding anyone with direct knowledge of the DVLA systems and specifically the systems you have an issue with, then I doubt you will get a credible opinion on the cost and or time scales involved in implementing 'error checking'. So I think your chances of getting the judge to see your perspective as near zero.

If such a person exists then they are probably also prohibited from sharing such information through breach of confidentiality clauses.

With the DVLA you are dealing a particularly pernicious and nasty form of government agency that is effectively a law unto itself. its an agency of government not a government department.

you could kick things off by firing off a few FoI requests.

* especially accepted by DVLA
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

DVLA and Data Protection Act 1998