Thread: bash sqlstate

Provided Answers: 11

Unanswered: bash sqlstate

I am not a real programmer but using shell scripts to get db2 data
    whenever we execute db2 commands we check rc to see if ok
    bit the question would be : is there a possibility to retrieve the sqlstate with shell script ? in case we execute connect we need to know if we can connect or if db is in standby mode ? (this could be retrieved from remote attach, but for some other info we would like to get sqlstate)
    Best Regards, Guy Przytula
    Database Software Consultant
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.
    DB2 UDB LUW Certified V7-V8-V9-V9.7-V10.1-V10.5 DB Admin - Advanced DBA -Dprop..
    Information Server Datastage Certified
    http://www.infocura.be

Provided Answers: 18

Here is an example for backup command. This uses ksh, but may work for bash, or just include the first line and ksh will be invoked.

Code:
    #!/bin/ksh

DB=$1

. $HOME/sqllib/db2profile

db2 -v "backup db $DB online to /backups/$DB compress include logs"

RC=$?

if      [[ $RC -gt 0 ]]
    then
            xxxxx        
    else
            yyyyy
    fi
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

thanks for the update
    but $? returns 0-2-4 for ok-warning-error not sqlstate

option for clp -ec returns sqlcode : -1776(4)

thanks for all update...
    Good DBAs are not formed in a week or a month. They are created little by little, day by day. Protracted and patient effort is needed to develop good DBAs.
    Spoon feeding : To treat (another) in a way that discourages independent thought or action, as by overindulgence.