Wink I want to be a cowgirl...(not really, I really want to be a db developer)

I am 41 years old.

I have a BS in MIS, an AS in Software Development, and an MBA in Info Syst.

About 10 years ago, I worked in an IT department of a local hospital as a help desk tech. Did this for about 3 years. That’s the extent of my hands on experience.

I would like to be a database developer.

I started studying for the MOS Access 2010 certification and I’ll probably pass it.

But, how do I get a job? I have a full time position in the postal service and Ive been there 17 years.

No, I havent been able to find an IT position within the company and dont expect to.

I just dont want all that study to go to waste. Not to mention the money I could be making. Would making up a database, say in Access, be enough for experience to get me in the door?

Can I go in the door making at least $60K? How? I live in Birmingham, AL. Do I need to move?

Am I too old to ‘start over’? Would it be stupid for me to leave the so-called security of the government job? (Even with the turmoil the post office is going through)?

I’ve given you my so called credentials thus far, and as you can see I have NO practical experience, plenty of academics, foundation, but no hands dirty work.

So, Id like to go the way of the SQL Server grasshopper. Where do I start Senseis?

I read about certification and how I should really get experience before trying for certification.

So where do I start with SQL Server qualification?

How do I get a job?

First off, nothing happens overnight. It will take several steps and it will take you a few weeks or months for each step. You need to be just a bit patient to work through this process.