Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14

    Unanswered: Remove standby mode

    HI All,

    I have requirement, I have to break HADR and I need to bring my stand by system out of standby mode from HADR and apply log files manually on DR,
    can you please let me know how to do it

    I breaked HADR and changed all HADR parameters to null as below, and restarted db2 on DR
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_LOCAL_HOST
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_LOCAL_SVC
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_REMOTE_HOST
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_REMOTE_SVC
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_REMOTE_INST
    db2 update db cfg for DB using HADR_SYNCMODE

    but still it shows

    HADR database role = STANDBY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,034
    Provided Answers: 18
    Why did'nt you first do: Takeover Hadr on database ... " (using by force , if necessary) ?
    But you can still do STOP HADR
    Last edited by db2mor; 05-24-12 at 16:21.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Yes, I tried that option but i can not do rollforward, if i take over by force and stop HADR

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    I want to apply logs manually keeping system in rollforward pending status

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,650
    When the db is in standby mode, issue

    STOP HADR ON DB MYDB

    This will leave the database in rollforward pending mode.
    Then you can use copy the logs generated on primary manually and rollforward.

    Why do you want to break HADR. Depending on the need there may be other choices for you.
    Visit the new-look IDUG Website , register to gain access to the excellent content.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    38
    Yep, I'm puzzled by the approach as well.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    306
    We used to have to do this as a quasi-dr test. The clients wouldn't consent to a takeover but wanted to independently verify the data was at the DR site and up to date etc.

    Yea as sathyaram has said you break the HADR connection by issueing the STOP HADR command...no need to clear the db cfg setting... the rest is pretty much normal rollforward stuff...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    HI All,

    Thanks for every one, will try and let you know,

    Regards
    Bond

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •