Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Unanswered: Database Model, Foreign Keys Correct?

Hello.

I am new to MySQL, I've been researching databases and creating a database model which supports users, connections (friends), support tickets, feedback, log and roles (permissions).

I have setup the tables to use InnoDB, my main question is if I am using foreign keys correctly.

My database model is available from the link below.

Database Model (Requires MySQLWorkbench)
    Database Model SQL Script

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
    Last edited by EpicKris; 06-03-12 at 22:22. Reason: Added SQL script link

Quote Originally Posted by EpicKris View Post
    Requires MySQLWorkbench.
    too bad i don't gots

if you could do a SHOW CREATE TABLE for each table, and post the results as text, that might let more people see your table design
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

Quote Originally Posted by r937 View Post
    too bad i don't gots

if you could do a SHOW CREATE TABLE for each table, and post the results as text, that might let more people see your table design
    I edited my original post to include this.

okay, i've had a look at your foreign keys... several of them are missing, and some of them won't work, e.g.
    Code:
    FOREIGN KEY (`user_id` , `connection_user_id` )    
    REFERENCES `global`.`global_users` (`user_id` , `user_id` )
    also, a number of your primary keys are wrong, e.g.
    Code:
    PRIMARY KEY (`connection_id`, `user_id`, `connection_user_id`, `relation_id`)
    plus, you have some redundant indexes which are redundant, e.g.
    Code:
    INDEX `global_users` (`user_id` ASC) , 
     UNIQUE INDEX `user_id_UNIQUE` (`user_id` ASC) ,  
    PRIMARY KEY (`user_id`)
    i think what you might want to do is actually test your table creation scripts and work your way through the error messages
    rudy.ca | @rudydotca