Unanswered: How to create unique field or sequence in view

Hi,

I have created a view based on joining 3 tables, however, it is not possible to have a unique field in the view which I must need it and I must create index on some other fields. Is there any way to create sequence number or uniqie field in mssql view. Please help explain the steps to achieve this. Giving example or link will be very helpful for me as I am a newbie in mssql.

Thanks.

Asif

Quote Originally Posted by asifisyed View Post
    Hi,

I have created a view based on joining 3 tables, however, it is not possible to have a unique field in the view which I must need it and I must create index on some other fields. Is there any way to create sequence number or uniqie field in mssql view. Please help explain the steps to achieve this. Giving example or link will be very helpful for me as I am a newbie in mssql.

Thanks.

Asif

Go through the basics which says, we collect column names from table(s) to create views. It's not possible to add extra column.

If you need a unique combination then i would suggest you to create an index on composite columns of views i.e if there are 3 columns in views which make data unique then create an index on these views' columns.

You cannot create normal index on views. We have a solution called "Indexed view". Check or try to create index on a view (for sql 2005 or higher version)

Create Indexed Views

Quote Originally Posted by asifisyed View Post
    Hi,

Thanks.

Asif

Morev, Remember that views are temporary tables. They do not contain data. If you're thinking of sequencial number or auto-incremental number, how would you delete them?

Creating an indexed view will do, i feel else I would suggest you to create a lookup_table and insert data into that table by having an identity or sequential field.

Thanks

How to create unique field or sequence in view