Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: DBMS Vs RDBMS

Unanswered: DBMS Vs RDBMS

Good Day !

I am a newbie, to db world, and am going to be here for a long time to come.
    This forum has provided me answer to almost all my doubts and questions even without asking. Thanks to all the people who asked the questions and all those who contributed the answers.

In a fictional scenario, if i have a few tables with the columns inter-related.
    In a DBMS Architecture, I can use INNER JOIN to access the data and do any particular operation i want to.

What are the Pro's and Con's..performance wise ? security wise ?
    if is decide to switch to RDBMS.

Are there any other factor that come into play here ? please enlighten me.
    Thanks in Advance.

if you have a DBMS which supports INNER JOIN, then switching to RDBMS is going to involve no pain whatsoever

i suggest you google the terms DBMS and RDBMS and discover for yourself what the difference is

rudy.ca | @rudydotca
    Buy my SitePoint book: Simply SQL

I assume by RDBMS, you mean relational database management system? This term was popular years ago before relational became the standard (network and hierarchical databases were the norm before that on mainframe computers). These days, almost all DBMS's are relational, although some new non-relational types are now emerging (mostly hype IMO).
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

Several of my largest clients are still unable to go to DB2 (even though politically they really need to). They have not been able to migrate because even with all of the improvements in cpus, operating systems, and dasd, they still cannot handle their workload in DB2. What they use are databases where the code manages the access to the data, not SQL.