Talking Unanswered: Running two instances of Informix?

Hi there everyone. A newbie to the forums.

I am NOT a techie and get overwhelmed by acronyms (join Get Rid Of Acronyms Now!.........we call ourselves GROAN).

We are running our Pharmacy system build on Informix 11.5 on an IBM p5 database server (type 9131-52A). We are negotiating with another hospital to host their same system on our database server (new install) but they would run off their own instance of Informix.

How can I find out if this server can effectively run two instances in a production environment without any performance issues?

Alternatively, does anyone have any experience in running two separate production databases off of the same instance of Informix? Any recommendations surrounding the advisability of doing so vis a vis performance/security/risk etc would be appreciated.

Apologies if this is too basic for this forum but any assistance would be greatly appreciated. During our last upgrade, when we ran into server issues, the IBM support person wasn't terribly familiar with our hardware.
    Last edited by FordPrefect; 06-13-12 at 11:45. Reason: Other data required

Quote Originally Posted by FordPrefect View Post
    Hi there everyone. A newbie to the forums.

How can I find out if this server can effectively run two instances in a production environment without any performance issues?

Alternatively, does anyone have any experience in running two separate production databases off of the same instance of Informix? Any recommendations surrounding the advisability of doing so vis a vis performance/security/risk etc would be appreciated.

Apologies if this is too basic for this forum but any assistance would be greatly appreciated. During our last upgrade, when we ran into server issues, the IBM support person wasn't terribly familiar with our hardware.
    Well... the question is ok, but I'd say it's impossible to answer it... Let me explain why, and you may take it from there...