Talking Do I just need a kick in the pants?

I found this oasis of useful information in a desert of data and wasteland of words. I have been really kicking around the idea of changing 'careers' <being sarcastic>. I say that because I really dont have a career per se. Ive been working my job for 17 years now.
    I came here for advice and I received wonderful feedback from two of the 'old souls' around here I think papadi and one more sweetheart. Look at New Members and Introductions for my thread..."I want to be a cowgirl"... to find out of whom I speak. Anyhoo, I have three degrees in IT and Ive always liked working with databases. I really thought I would be steeped in the IT world by now, but I got sidetracked and way way off the beaten path to DB development. Now, Im wrestling with how to break in without going broke. Im having a hard time knowing where to start. Even harder time starting. Ive got a 'foundation'. I could write a basic SQL statement right now, but I need to know where to stick the statement.
    Enters, <<<cape flying>>>SQL Server 2012<<<superhero music>>. I am at a loss. I have two books right now, A Beginners Guide to SQL Server 2012 and T-SQL 2008 Tutorial. I sat down to read the beginners guide and I swear the letters and words starting breakdancing and bellydancing on the page and at one point I swear another language besides english kicked in. Thats the first page of Ch 3 SQL Server management Studio. < I skipped ahead to the meat>. I have been checking out books and looking up tutorials online for at least 2 months now, even downloaded SQL Server(the free one) and the SQL that everyone seems to like, I cant call the name right now but its free too. I have yet to write a line of code, or even peek in the Mgt Studio. I need a push.