Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    41

    Unanswered: issue with db2start

    OS of BOX A and BOX B is : LINUX
    Os level clustring is done
    DB2level:9.7.4

    UID AND GID had been taken care to be same on both the systems.
    from box A db2 installation has been done and home directory for box a is /dbsys which is on the SAN and with the response file from box A installation on box B has been done and the home directory is same as box a

    db works fine from box A. In box B i am getting the following error

    ON ISSUING DB2START i get an error message:

    SQL6048N A communication eeror occurred during start or stop database manager processing

    SQL1032N no start database manager command was issued. SQLSTATE=57019

    diaglog.file:

    2012-06-14-18.06.01.137536+330 I1E1566 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, RAS/PD component, pdLogInternal, probe:120
    START : New Diagnostic Log file
    DATA #1 : Build Level, 152 bytes
    Instance "db2inst1" uses "64" bits and DB2 code release "SQL09074"
    with level identifier "08050107".
    Informational tokens are "DB2 v9.7.0.4", "s110330", "IP23243", Fix Pack "4".
    DATA #2 : System Info, 440 bytes
    System: Linux FDMSAPPPRD3.forcemotors.com 6 2 x86_64
    CPU: total:24 online:24 Cores per socket:16 Threading degree per core:1
    Physical Memory(MB): total:88284 free:81244
    Virtual Memory(MB): total:153823 free:146783
    Swap Memory(MB): total:65539 free:65539
    Kernel Params: msgMaxMessageSize:65536 msgMsgMap:65536 msgMaxQueueIDs:16
    msgNumberOfHeaders:65536 msgMaxQueueSize:65536
    msgMaxSegmentSize:16 shmMax:68719476736 shmMin:1 shmIDs:4096
    shmSegments:4096 semMap:32000 semIDs:128 semNum:32000
    semUndo:32000 semNumPerID:250 semOps:32 semUndoSize:20
    semMaxVal:32767 semAdjustOnExit:32767
    Cur cpu time limit (seconds) = 0xFFFFFFFF
    Cur file size limit (bytes) = 0xFFFFFFFF
    Cur data size (bytes) = 0xFFFFFFFF
    Cur stack size (bytes) = 0x00A00000
    Cur core size (bytes) = 0x00000000
    Cur memory size (bytes) = 0xFFFFFFFF
    nofiles (descriptors) = 0x00000800

    Information in this record is only valid at the time when this file was
    created (see this record's time stamp)

    2012-06-14-18.06.01.137402+330 I1568E304 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleIssueStartStop, probe:21
    DATA #1 : <preformatted>
    Single node instance [0] is starting

    2012-06-14-18.06.01.139713+330 I1873E421 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleIssueStartStop, probe:1100
    DATA #1 : String, 53 bytes
    /dbsys/db2inst1/sqllib/adm/db2rstar db2profile SN 0 0
    DATA #2 : Hexdump, 4 bytes
    0x00007FFF6563055C : 1000 0000 ....

    2012-06-14-18.06.31.142004+330 E2295E706 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, oper system services, sqloPdbInitializeRemoteCommand, probe:120
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x810F001A=-2129723366=SQLO_CONN_TIMEOUT "Connection timed out"
    DATA #1 : <preformatted>
    DB2 timed out waiting for a response from the remote node. The most
    likely causes are either an authentication failure with the remote shell
    program (/usr/bin/rsh), or the remote shell program is taking an excessive
    amount of time to authenticate. The timeout value is 30 seconds, and
    can be modified using the DB2RSHTIMEOUT registry variable.

    2012-06-14-18.06.31.142402+330 E3002E524 LEVEL: Error
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, oper system services, sqloPdbInitializeRemoteCommand, probe:200
    MESSAGE : ZRC=0x810F001A=-2129723366=SQLO_CONN_TIMEOUT "Connection timed out"
    DATA #1 : String, 27 bytes
    FDMSAPPPRD3.forcemotors.com
    DATA #2 : String, 27 bytes
    FDMSAPPPRD4.forcemotors.com
    DATA #3 : String, 51 bytes
    No diagnostics available from remote shell program.

    2012-06-14-18.06.31.142716+330 I3527E282 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleIssueStartStop, probe:80
    DATA #1 : signed integer, 4 bytes
    -6048

    2012-06-14-18.06.31.147099+330 I3810E297 LEVEL: Event
    PID : 27020 TID : 47855937967424PROC : db2start
    INSTANCE: db2inst1 NODE : 000
    FUNCTION: DB2 UDB, base sys utilities, sqleIssueStartStop, probe:190
    DATA #1 : <preformatted>
    Single node stopped [-1032].

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,035
    Provided Answers: 18
    Your problem description is poor.

    Which Linux distro ? (redhat, suse, ubuntu ?)

    Which Linux version ? (output of uname -a) ?

    Which cluster-manager are you using?

    If you are using clustering, your cluster-manager must start the db2-instance and your cluster-manager must handle the failover from A to B. In other words while the DB2 on A is up and running and active, the DB2 on B (if B is the cluster partner of A) is not running (and cannot run without the cluster manager passing shared resources (e.g. $INSTHOME) from A to B) and starting the instance on B.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    The db2nodes.cfg file has the hostname of BOX A in it. This is why DB2 fails on BOX B. Your clustering solution should change db2nodes.cfg so it runs on BOX B.

    Andy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    41
    Thankyou so much Andy...yes i missed out the db2nodes.cfg file.

    I had manually updated the .cfg file and the services started but with errors:
    [db2inst1@FDMSAPPPRD3 /]$ db2start
    06/15/2012 08:59:26 0 0 SQL5043N Support for one or more communications protocols failed to start successfully. However, core database manager functionality started successfully.
    SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.


    My DB is single partationed and the cluster has to run in Active-Passive mode, so always only one system is up and the other is down and i have to manually mount and unmount the SAN, in this case how do i avoid the manual updation of db2nodes.cfg file, am not sure if my approach is right.... Plz guide through this..!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    41
    This environment is not a DB cluster its an OS Cluster..

    OS: Redhat Linux

    In this case how does the cluster manager manage the failover..??

    i am all confused this is the first time i am ever working on DB2 plz guide me.. i am trying my best to understand with the help of the docs but still i have doubts

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by divya.s View Post
    Thankyou so much Andy...yes i missed out the db2nodes.cfg file.

    I had manually updated the .cfg file and the services started but with errors:
    [db2inst1@FDMSAPPPRD3 /]$ db2start
    06/15/2012 08:59:26 0 0 SQL5043N Support for one or more communications protocols failed to start successfully. However, core database manager functionality started successfully.
    SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.


    My DB is single partationed and the cluster has to run in Active-Passive mode, so always only one system is up and the other is down and i have to manually mount and unmount the SAN, in this case how do i avoid the manual updation of db2nodes.cfg file, am not sure if my approach is right.... Plz guide through this..!!
    Does the /etc/services files on both servers match exactly (for the DB2 section)?

    Andy

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    4,292
    Provided Answers: 5
    Quote Originally Posted by divya.s View Post
    This environment is not a DB cluster its an OS Cluster..

    OS: Redhat Linux

    In this case how does the cluster manager manage the failover..??

    i am all confused this is the first time i am ever working on DB2 plz guide me.. i am trying my best to understand with the help of the docs but still i have doubts
    You should have installed DB2 on each server and the instance owner's home directory should be on the SAN. (you only create the instance on the active node).


    You are going to have to write some custom scripts that the cluster software can call when you do a failover to bring up DB2 on the new node.

    Or you could look at a clustering solution like LifeKeeper from Sios that will do the DB2 portion as well.


    Andy

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Canberra, Australia
    Posts
    38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •