Unanswered: Google drive messed up database

I have an access database on a windows 2003 server and front ends on client computers. I'm a bit of a novice with access but have inherited a fairly big and complex database that I need to maintain.

The problem started when I decided to set up google drive on the server and put the database in there so it would be backed up. When i opened the front end on one of the client machine it gave the following error " this site is located outside your intranet.....". But after research that seemed to be solved by putting the server into internet explorers trusted sites.

The current problem is that when I open the database on the client machines the forms are blank. When I go into into design view and the data tab and set data entry to off I can see the forms fine but obviously can't ad any new data.

I have been researching the problem on this site and have read talk about the primary key being missing, which I think it is. I'm assuming that me moving the database on the server into the google drive folder has somehow corrupted it and I'm hoping it's an easy fix.

Provided Answers: 59
    Access is file sharing database not a client server DB
    I'd expect the application to be using a split database design (data in one file, application / user interface in another file, ideally each user to have their own local UI file.

just wondering if you need to reconnect the data having moved the files location. you may also need to do something with the security settings.

personally I'd be very very wary of using google drive for anything, especially if any of that stuff is sensitive or commercially valuable. if your sole reason is to avoid having to do a backup, then you really shoudl rethink that.
    I'd rather be riding on the Tiger 800 or the Norton

Quote Originally Posted by healdem View Post
    Access is file sharing database not a client server DB