Unanswered: Comparing column values among 2 or more rows

Hello all,

I've been working with T-SQL in a MSSQL Server Management Studio (2005) for about a week now. I've been trying to convert some horribly written VB code from a MS Access DB over to SQL so it can be automated on a SQL backend.

Most of the learning process and coding has gone surprisingly well. The problem is with comparing some data to determine which one needs to be flagged.

I'll try to explain the structure and purpose as best I can. I'm a SQL noob, so feel free to link me to any reading material that I should have learned already, or that explicitly solves my problem (I have bad google-fu, apparently).

Three tables to note in bold, with notable fields in italics below them:
    EmployeeData
    HRID (identity)

ResourceAllocation
    ID (identity)
    [Last Name] (linked to HRID)
    Project
    [Resource Start Date]
    [Resource End Date]
    [Percent Utilization]

tblHCvalues
    RAID (linked to ResourceAllocation.ID)
    a monthyear and quarteryear for every month and quarter from 2012-2014. IE january12, february12, 1q12, 2q13, etc...

And yes, there are probably a thousand ways to optimize that tblHCvalues, but I'll ask about that later. Just work with the structure I have

Here's how it works:
    • Each employee's data and unique HRID is in the EmployeeData table
    • An employee can be on one or multiple projects at any time
    • Those projects are stored per project in the ResourceAllocation table with a link to the Employee's HRID, and all the other information listed above
    • Even though an employee might be on two projects, they can only count for headcount on one project
    • We use rules that compare the percent of work being done on a project, and the start and end dates of the employee (resource) on that project to determine which project should be counted for Headcount