Unanswered: VBA : Need help on Log In Log Out Session

Helo guys,

I'm having trouble with my program on access I have made a log in and log out database that puts the time stamp whenever you log in.

Yet the problem is, it replaces the current value whenever the user logs in back and logs out again.

And also for my problem #2 I can't seem to make the username and password authentication work.

I'm a newbie with VBA so any help would be appreciated.

Here is my code :

Code:
    Private Sub cmdLogIn_Click()
    ' double check for value in userid
        If Me.txtUserID.Value = "" Then
            MsgBox "You must enter a User ID", vbOKOnly + vbCritical, "No User ID Entered"
            Me.txtUserID.SetFocus
            Exit Sub
        End If
    ' double check for value in user pw
        If Me!txtPW.Value = "" Then
            MsgBox "You must enter your Password", vbOKOnly + vbCritical, "No Password Entered"
            Me.txtPW.SetFocus
            Exit Sub
    End If

DoCmd.Hourglass True
        DoCmd.SetWarnings False
    'UPDATE USER LOGIN DATE
        DoCmd****nSQL "UPDATE tblUserLog SET tblUserLog.BeginTime = Now()" & _
                     "WHERE (((tblUserLog.userID)='" & Me.txtUserID.Value & "'));"
        DoCmd.SetWarnings True
        DoCmd.Hourglass False
    Last edited by confuseduser; 07-10-12 at 01:26.

To make the validation work you need to understand that null and "" are not the same thing, but the solution is easy.

Instead of: If Me.txtUserID.Value = "" Then
    Use: If nz(Me.txtUserID.Value,"") = "" Then

You can also use a single if statement to control the logical flow which avoids the need to have Exit Sub in the middle. This allows the option of adding code at the end that will always execute or more easily adding error handling (which you really should do)
    Code:
    Private Sub cmdLogIn_Click()
        ' double check for value in userid
        If nz(Me.txtUserID.Value,"") = "" Then