Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655

    Unanswered: Change database ownership. How ?

    Hi Experts,

    can someone suggest me the idea as how to change onwership from my username to 'informix' user.

    The database was dbimport -ed by myself, it is owned by myself. Whereas this should be owned by user 'informix' throughout the development environment.

    Thanks for time.
    DBFinder

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    78
    Hi,

    You can change the user´s owner table before you import database. Then import the database and the new user becomes the owner.

    Bye.
    LS

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    Seems promising ! but, how to change user's owner table? Where can I find it ?

    Regards

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    78
    Hi again,

    When you use the command dbexport, a folder is created with database files and with a schema named database_name.sql in it.
    If you look at that file, the tables normally as a perfix like "name_of_user".name_of_table which if you modify the "name_of_user" that with be the owner of the table when import the database.

    Attention when you modify the .sql file because if you do something that you shouldn't you will never be able to import that database again.

    Hope that helps
    LS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    LS,

    My intention is to change the database ownership to informix.

    The tables are already owned by informix.


    Regards

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    78
    DBFinder,

    If you import the database as Informix, this user will become the owner.
    I presume that you want to see the owner Informix when you consult the databases into the dbspaces.
    When you look into the sysmaster database of the instance, there is an table called sysdatabases that have the information about the databases that exists on the instance and the respective owner.
    LS

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    655
    Once again,
    I am not allowed informix credentials.

    I realize that the database has to be imported by 'informix' user only; no other way.

    Sorry for all this confusion.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lisboa, Portugal
    Posts
    78
    You are wellcome
    LS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •