Unanswered: Report record source change

I am a beginner working with access 2007. I have tried several posts regarding my problem in the posts to no avail. I want to change a report's record source property in the report's open event of the report from the record source (Q_query1) selected in design view to a different record source property (Q_query2) in the code as it opens. This way I can use the same report layout with 2 queries. I'v tried this code in the form
    [Reports]![R_REP_Query1].RecordSource = "Q_query2"
    and this in the report
    me.RecordSource = "Q_query2"

Please help
    Last edited by DJV; 07-14-12 at 13:45.

Provided Answers: 14
    In the Report module, add:
    Code:
    Private Sub Report_Open(Cancel As Integer)

If Not IsNull(Me.OpenArgs) Then
            Me.RecordSource = Me.OpenArgs
        Else
            MsgBox "No source provided.", vbExclamation
        End If

End Sub
    Then you can open the report and specify which query it will use as RecordSource, like this:
    Code:
        DoCmd.OpenReport "<ReportName>", acViewPreview, , , , "<QueryName>"
    Where <ReportName> is the name of the report to open and <QueryName> is the name of the query to use.
    Have a nice day!

Code:
        Else
        End If
    I think a better approach would be to use the OpenArgs for both reports (although that may have been Sinndho's intent as well). That way the code is simply
    Code:
    The calling program, in both cases, would use the format that Sinndho mentioned.

You understand that if you rely on the OpenArgs property, you cannot open the report manually (double-clicking on the report icon in the database window); you must only open the report through the calling program. Otherwise, you will get an error message that the OpenArgs is null.

Sam

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Landy View Post
    [Otherwise, you will get an error message that the OpenArgs is null.

Sam
    This is precisely why I test:
    Code:
    Have a nice day!