Thread: Migration Input

Unanswered: Migration Input

I'm a software engineer by profession and while I have quite a bit of experience very little of it has dealt (to any real depth anyway) with commercially available relational database systems.

About 15 years I wrote a relatively large, mildly complex, system using Paradox in support of the needs of a large nonprofit organization (its currently running under Paradox 7). It has successfully, with the support of one technically knowledgeable member of the organization, keep them running for almost 15 years now. Unfortunately, that one member has now left the organization so they have come back to me for help in keeping them running, moving them forward, etc.

I really don't want to rewrite the whole thing mostly because it's not necessary (in spite of their naive belief that porting it to Access would be a good idea). I was hoping though to get some insight on what might be reasonable steps to consider while keeping it Paradox. My current thoughts include stepping them up to the latest version of Paradox, writing a tool (which I'm mostly done with) to empty, resize and then reload all of the tables (some are still at their Win98 settings).

The other base application details like making forms/reports more up to date can be taken care of over time.

I was hoping to get input from the more experienced crowd here about other things I might want to consider during this upgrade? TIA!

as almost every thread here says, the paradox crowd isn't here.. it's at the paradox community web site

Support - Paradox Community