Unanswered: IIF query problems

Hey guys I am having problems trying to get my IIF to work! I have been working it awhile now and I think I am truely over thinking it! I first tried:

Expr4: IIf([State]="La","Parish","County")

I want the county text box to show county if it is any other state besides La, and if it has La then have it marked as Parish in the same text box. A friend of mine sent me a CO-PA line but I have never used it before:

CO-PA: IIf([Lease Counties]![STATE]="LA"," PARISH, "," COUNTY, ")

What am I missing???

Provided Answers: 14
    Where do you use the expression, and how?
    Have a nice day!

I am trying to use it in a set of reports. So if I am creating legal information for a company that owns land in numerous states, Louisiana will not accept anything unless the Parish is marked as a Parish not county. It makes it a pain when most companies have a few properties within La!

Are you using this statement in a query or in VBA? The construct you're using is used only in a query. In VBA, it becomes
    Code:
    Expr4 = IIf([State] = "La","Parish","County")
    Sam

This does not answer the previous question. Do you try to use the expression in a query, in a VBA function, in the property of an object?

- If it's in a query or in a vba proceduren please post the whole code of the query (SQL) or of the (VBA) procedure.

- If it's in the property of an object (Textbox...) please post more information about this object and, possibly, it's parent, as well as the whole expression as it appears in the Property window.

Explaining what does not work (error message and code, or unexpected results, or plain nothing) would help too.
    Have a nice day!

Yes I was using this expression in the query, I am new to the IIF. If you have any quick reference to make a better sql statement for the IIF I would glady look at it!

And the code I have currently does nothing but leave the blank textbox. No matter what state is selected.