Unanswered: DB2 LUW, Can't setup connection using Configuration Assistant

DB2 client 9.7.5 on Windows. Db2 server 9.7.5 on Open Suse Linux 12.1.

Hi,

Please bear with me if it seems like a silly question since I am new to DB2 LUW.

I can connect to the above db2 server using Putty where I supply the linux machine's ip and SSH port. Basically it connects to the server as a linux user and then I invoke DB2 from there.

But I want to register the remote database at my client windows machine using Configuration Assistant so I can access it locally from my client machine.

So I have given the linux server's ip as hostname and port as db2 service port 50005 for tcp which I have checked its listening on. Database name given is the instance name of db2 server. But when I do a Test Connection using one of the linux system userid and password, it doesn't work.

I know tcp service at port 50005 is working since netstat -an | grep 50005 shows it with LISTEN.

Any idea what could be going wrong. I suspect I am using an operating system userid and password but at DB2 level. Not sure how authentication should happen.

This is the exact error I get on Test Connection.

CLI connection failed.
    SQL30081N A communication error has been detected. Communication protocol being used: "TCP/IP". Communication API being used: "SOCKETS". Location where the error was detected: "192.168.1.459". Communication function detecting the error: "connect". Protocol specific error code(s): "10060", "*", "*". SQLSTATE=08001

Thanks in advance for ideas.
    Amar

Provided Answers: 18
    Can you ping the Suse Server from your windows client?
    Is the IP of the Suse server = 192.168.1.459 ?
    From the Windows client, in a cmd.exe window, what is the result of:
    telnet 192.168.1.459 50005
    If you do not see "Connected to..." then you might have firewall issues.