Thread: Advice

I have no experience with databases and would appreciate any guidance you can offer.

My database would be populated via a website and the back end would link to a logistics companies IT system so they can capture the key database information to assist their drivers.

The drivers can capture the information when he needs it on his handheld device via an internet connection or the information can be captured by the transport office at time of planning the drivers delivery route. This information can then be accessed by the driver where he wouldn't need access to a network as he would have the information locally on his handheld.

1. Does this sound a fairly straightforward (typical) solution to set up?
    2. Bar the internet connection requirement is one of the two options above easier to set up than the other?
    3. What is the system called that this requires?

Thank you for your time and any information or pointing me in the right direction would be really appreciated.

In front of the computer
    What sort of information is going to be captured? How is that information going to be used? What is the business purpose for this application, what will this application do to make the business willing to support the project?

In theory, theory and practice are identical. In practice, theory and practice are unrelated.

Thank you for your questions.
    The information is commercially sensitive so forgive me if I am a bit vague.

1. The information captured will be 99% contact info so usual name and address etc
    2. Only one piece of the info (the answer to a specific question, the other 1%) is needed by the driver, so say a max of 50 characters
    3. It will deliver efficiencies to the logistics industry

out on a limb