Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    184

    Question Unanswered: Configuration of private network for DB2 with database partitioning feature (DPF)

    We have a situation where initially we were using a common network for a 3 node DPF DB2 database.

    Now, we want to setup a private network. Each of the 3 nodes have additional network ports connected to a separate switch. The question is how to configure DB2 to use this private network for inter-partition communication? As of now they are not using it (when monitor using nmon) - it is obvious that some configuration is further required.

    I see that we could use db2haicu. However, then looks like we will need to first prepare cluster nodes, create a cluster domain, add the 3 nodes to the cluster domain, configure a quorum device and then only create private network, etc. This seems to be a roundabout way of creating a private network for DB2 FCM in a DPF environment. Is this the only option available?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    You're confusing the HA cluster with a DPF database. All you need to do is reference the IP addresses bound to the private network in the db2nodes.cfg file.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    184
    Thanks.

    After making changes to the db2nodes.cfg to replace the hostnames with private hostnames of the private network it is working. Of course, rsh had to be configured for these private hostnames using .rhosts file.

    However, we see frequent OS errors logged in db2diag.log with the following message:

    OSERR : ECONNRESET (73) "Connection reset by peer"

    Thanks in advance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5,737
    Quote Originally Posted by ggnanaraj View Post
    Thanks.

    After making changes to the db2nodes.cfg to replace the hostnames with private hostnames of the private network it is working. Of course, rsh had to be configured for these private hostnames using .rhosts file.

    However, we see frequent OS errors logged in db2diag.log with the following message:

    OSERR : ECONNRESET (73) "Connection reset by peer"

    Thanks in advance.
    I am not sure what you mean by "replace the hostnames." You are supposed to have the public hostnames and the private network hostnames (or IP address) in the db2nodes.cfg.

    Here is an example:

    If you want your partitioned database system to contain two computers, called ServerA and ServerB (with ServerB running two database partition servers), and use a high speed interconnect called switch1 and switch2, update the db2nodes.cfg file as follows:

    0 ServerA 0 switch1
    1 ServerB 0 switch2
    2 ServerB 1 switch2
    M. A. Feldman
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows
    IBM Certified DBA on DB2 for z/OS and OS/390

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    184
    Thanks.

    I've updated the db2nodes.cfg as follows:

    0 ServerA 0 private_hostnameA
    1 ServerB 0 private_hostnameB
    2 ServerB 1 private_hostnameB

    Where private_hostnameA resolves to the IP of the private network for ServerA and similarly for private_hostnameB.

    However, still get OS errors in db2diag.log like the following:

    OSERR : ECONNRESET (73) "Connection reset by peer"

    Use of db2top also fails with following errors:

    SQL1629W A remote snapshot operation failed on node or nodes "1, 2", with reason code or codes "1, 1".

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by ggnanaraj; 08-20-12 at 01:18.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    184
    Thanks.

    We are updating /etc/hosts & db2nodes.cfg to use fully qualified domain names instead of short name. So also, working with the network team to resolve the OS error - connection reset by peer.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •