Database design and terminology

Somehow I stirred up a huge database project at work and I'm trying to come up with the best solution. If someone could give the name or some of the terminology so I could read more about the specific type of database I'm trying to design it would be really helpful. Just a little disclaimer I'm not a computer scientist I'm a double E, which is why I am pretty clueless on database design.

So I have some data that looks like this.
    For example
    ID   SDate   EDate   P1 P2 P3 P4 P5 P....
    1   1/1/12    2/1/12   0   2   5   0   3  ....
    2   1/2/12    2/2/12   0   5   0   2   1  ....      
    3   1/3/12    2/3/12   0   2   0   3   1  ....      
    4   1/4/12    2/4/12    .    .    .    .   .      
    5   1/5/12    2/5/12    .    .    .    .   .   
    6   1/6/12    2/6/12
    The P columns are 256 but I would like to leave room to expand in case someone decides we need more columns and they are only relevant to me when they contain data. I would like to get all the records but I only want the columns that contain data in at least one of the records. On my example if I query records 1,2 and 3 I would only get columns P2 through P5 since P1 is always zero. However when I get record number 1 I would also need to get P4 since at least one of the records I queried had data for that column.
    Any ideas on how to design the best database for this type of records be would really appreciate it. Also some terminology regarding the type of DB I'm trying to design so I can read up on it.

London, UK
    Unfortunately some obscurely named columns and a few numbers doesn't tell us much about the nature of your data or your basic requirements - certainly not enough to give sensible advice on database design.