Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: db2pd agents

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94

    Unanswered: db2pd agents

    I am running db2pd -agents and per the IBM manual, I am supposed to see the process id of the agent process. But I am not able to see the Pid - I see everything else -


    can you see what I could be missing?

    Also, is the agent id argument the same as the EDU Ids listed in the service class output? Appreciate any help you could offer!

    uszdba75@laapef03 /db2home/uszlap75
    # db2pd -agents agent=11274
    Database Partition 1 -- Active -- Up 5 days 22:41:06
    Agents:
    Current agents: 217
    Idle agents: 33
    Active coord agents: 92
    Active agents total: 123
    Pooled coord agents: 60
    Pooled agents total: 61
    Address AppHandl [nod-index] AgentEDUID Priority Type State ClientPid Userid ClientNm Rowsread Rowswrtn LkTmOt DBName
    0x07800000009D6580 6785 [000-06785] 11274 10 SubAgent Inst-Active 361116 ifadmin pmdtm 167462 2425 NotSet MLCDMP
    uszdba75@laapef03 /db2home/uszlap75

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    What DB2 version? Since v9.5 agents run as threads within the DBM process, so there aren't any separate process IDs. Instead, you should use EDU IDs to distinguish between agents.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94
    Sorry, I missed that - this is V9.5.

    So can i trace the AIX process id corresponding to an EDU Id? Our objective is to track CPU, and memory usage for each agent.

    Thanks for the reply!
    -G

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94
    wait - IBM's 9.5 LUW documentation seems to suggest that Agent Process Id should be reported for the db2pd -agents flag.

    IBM DB2 9.5 Information Center for Linux, UNIX, and Windows

    Search the page for the phrase '-agents parameter'.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    Did you actually try it? I think there may be an error in the documentation.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94
    yup - precisely how I figured it was missing from the output -

    although, following your direction, reading about 9.5 changes over the last couple of hours helped me gain some more insights into how db2 now runs through threads instead of processes.

    Which is fine, except for now, I need to find out, how we will determine the cpu time, resident memory size (MB), and total virtual memory size (MB) for the thread?

    Is that even possible?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I guess you might be more interested on the DB2 perspective of things; try the MON_GET_CONNECTION function. From the OS side I think ps will give you the information you want.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94
    thanks n_i, I will try that function - although I looked at ps - it may be able to tell me how much cputime is being consumed by each thread, but not the memory usage (RAM , and overall virtual MEM)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,516
    Provided Answers: 1
    I don't think you can track memory by threads, as they all share the parent process memory. Not sure what the purpose of it might be, anyway.
    ---
    "It does not work" is not a valid problem statement.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    94
    chargeback accounting

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    2,367
    Chargeback by CPU, it's easy to do with "db2 -edu".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •