Hello,

I'm a project engineer for a small/medium Communications company operating in the oil and gas sector. Over the last year we've undergone fairly rapid growth and the size and complexity of the projects we're delivering has increased.

Currently much of the documentation and drawings we provide involve manual mark-up of existing similar drawings, intensive cut, copy and pasting of information from multiple inter-related data sources such as MS word documents, excel spreadsheets and PDF documents etc.

It has always struck me that a database structure could greatly benefit our productivity but I'm clueless on what is possible with database packages and how best to proceed.

Our main starting point for the majority of projets is the Vendor Document Register (VDR - a list of all submissible documents and drawings to be provided as part of the project). Each document and drawing has a unique document/drawing number, title and revision number etc which would seem sutiable for database records. Currently the information from the VDR would be copied and manually inserted into document and drawing templates.

Question 1 - Ideally time could be saved if all of the document/drawing templates could be automatically generated from the database is this possible and what is the best way to achieve this?

Additionally documents in the VDR are also grouped together, generally by system or type (e.g. general arrangement drawings, termination drawings, block diagrams etc) and these are then referenced in documents such as the functional design specification and detailed design specification.

Question 2 - Would it be possible to automatically populate reference tables in documents directly from database queries etc?